RSS Feed

A mate is true


 

 

Yesterday I did a poem about how my grandmother would’ve worked in the isolation of the country of South Australia. I never knew my grandfather but having known my father as a true person I can only imagine my  grandfather. I gave thought to my Dad’s brothers and the legend of the men from the early years of the country. I hoped he would’ve been true to his mates.

 
He would have learned the mateship oath
Along a railway gangers camp
From Broken Hill to Adelaide
The mateship oath in good times
And out of work

The oath from town to town
And by the billabong
The oath no matter what
A mate is true
He can do no wrong

A mate respects his mate
No matter what
Sharing in all kinds of weather
A mate can do no wrong
Along a railway gangers camp
From Broken Hill to Adelaide

No matter what
Sharing in all kinds of weather
A mate can do no wrong
There may be bitter words between mates
At times

But when he is away or passed on
A mate is loyal to a mates memory
No matter what

Posted on July 16, 2013 by 

About poetreecreations

I am an author writer publisher web administrator I run poetry workshops in the community. My published Manners childrens poetry book can be found at www.waterstones.com

Comments are closed.

