RSS Feed

Christmas cards


 

Christmas cards

 

Christmas is here once again

Brings memories of the past

The times we were together

I am alone again alas

 

Dusting down the Christmas cards

Placing them for all to see

The house is now empty

Since you were taken away from me

 

I miss the way you smiled

I miss you being there

I miss the warmth of your embrace

As I talk to an empty chair

 

Christmas can be a lonely time

When a loved one passes on

The sense of loss is painful

When you realise they have gone

 

As I read those Christmas cards

I thank God for all the years

That we both shared together

Through happiness and tears

 

I am going to enjoy Christmas

And toast our life with Champaign

Because I know one day

We shall meet in heaven again

 

Malcolm G Bradshaw

About poetreecreations

I am an author writer publisher web administrator I run poetry workshops in the community. My published Manners childrens poetry book can be found at www.waterstones.com

Comments are closed.

