RSS Feed

Bing


carol singers

A knock at the door and the carollers sing,
A beautiful song made famous by Bing.

One of Dad’s favourites and one of mine too,
It’s touching what the memory of one song can do.

I dream of a white Christmas year after year,
And wish that Dad could still be right here.

To enjoy festive re-runs of Bing’s Christmas movie,
Crooning along with Rosemary Clooney.

Sipping his sherry and eating mince pies,
While falling asleep just resting my eyes.

I place the old angel at the top of our tree
And pray that my Dad can look down on me

I turn on the stereo, White Christmas blares out as on cue,
As I raise my glass skyward and say “Dad, this one’s for you”

BEVERLEY BINFIELD

About poetreecreations

I am an author writer publisher web administrator I run poetry workshops in the community. My published Manners childrens poetry book can be found at www.waterstones.com

2 responses

  1. many fine memories are wrapped in Christmas music.
    A merry Christmas to you!

    Like

