RSS Feed

Bluebells


blue

The bluebells nestled arm in arm

The skeleton trees remained still and calm

I sat and read the letter you wrote last night

After we’d searched for stars

But found not one in sight

My heart has sunk

To the bottom of the stream

I no longer have that happy dream

Of you and I singing with the lark

Or playing with our children in the park

You said in your letter

I have broken your heart

You said we must remain apart

Now I sit with the bluebells

By the side of the stream

Where my heart has sunk

I no longer have that happy dream

Gillian Sims

About poetreecreations

I am an author writer publisher web administrator I run poetry workshops in the community. My published Manners childrens poetry book can be found at www.waterstones.com

Comments are closed.

