RSS Feed

Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening – Your Favourite Poem


frost

Whose woods these are I think I know.
His house is in the village though;
He will not see me stopping here
To watch his woods fill up with snow.

My little horse must think it queer
To stop without a farmhouse near
Between the woods and frozen lake
The darkest evening of the year.

He gives his harness bells a shake
To ask if there is some mistake.
The only other sound’s the sweep
Of easy wind and downy flake.

The woods are lovely, dark and deep,
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep.

Robert Frost

Your Favourite Poem

Sent in by:dodgysurfer.wordpress.com

What’s Yours?

About poetreecreations

I am an author writer publisher web administrator I run poetry workshops in the community. My published Manners childrens poetry book can be found at www.waterstones.com

7 responses

  1. Reading this reminds me of ‘Under Milk Wood’ by Dylan Thomas. I think it’s the image of him writing in his by the beach in Wales

    Like

  2. walttriznastories

    My favorite poem, by my favorite poet.

    Like

  3. Totally my favorite author, I was first captured by “The Road not Taken”, and it has “…made all the difference.”

    Like

  4. Thank you for sharing this poem!! This was one of my most favourite poems in school! Was good to read it after so long 🙂

    Like

  5. I have always loved this poem!

    Like

  6. I envy anyone who can write poetry. When I was a child, I heard Robert Frost read this poem on the radio. I was spellbound. He read his poetry with such drama. I shall never forget that sonorous voice.

    Like

