RSS Feed

When I Look Into The Mirror


oldman

When I look at myself in the mirror
I question who is standing there
I don’t recognize the reflection
Of an old person with grey in their hair

Within myself I don’t feel old and useless
My mind at the moment is as sharp as a pin
Although my body doesn’t function it used to do
And my face and hair are both thin

I can’t run as fast as I used to do
And I can’t jump a five-barred gate
I have to leave the house early
Making sure I am on time, never late

They say we should grow old gracefully
No matter what changes take place
I suppose I should be thankful for what I have
For being part of the human race

Malcolm G Bradshaw

About poetreecreations

I am an author writer publisher web administrator I run poetry workshops in the community. My published Manners childrens poetry book can be found at www.waterstones.com

Comments are closed.

