RSS Feed

DRIVING TO THE EDGE ON INTERSTATE FIVE – Promote Yourself


vally 

As the tires hum I grip the wheel

Through miles of barren landscape,

My wife, daughters make the sound of sleep

As the emptiness rushes by,

I am alone in this desolate land

With only my thoughts for company,

The San Joaquin Valley stretches along

This ribbon of road,

On the CD player, Jonatha Brooke

Sings her sad, soulful songs,

I am so far away from home

As the sun lowers behind the distant mountains,

Wherever I travel, or choose to exist

I long for the home

I fear I may never find,

There is something inside

That I do not understand

That will not permit peace,

A happy family is mine

But conflict and emptiness still possess me,

Forever alone.

Walt Trizna

https://walttriznastories.wordpress.com/

About poetreecreations

I am an author writer publisher web administrator I run poetry workshops in the community. My published Manners childrens poetry book can be found at www.waterstones.com

Comments are closed.

