RSS Feed

Born Again – Promote Yourself



bab

Drowsy after a caesarean I lay
as if I forgot why I was there

The nurse woke me, handed me
a beautiful dimply babe

As if saying, take care
here it is, now all yours

As I held him, there he was
frantically sucking his tiny fist

His nervous half-open eyes
as if scared to be in this world

Our eyes locked, well so I thought
and I was changed forever

That moment I was ‘born again’
as I had become a mother

He was my bundle of joy
my onus and my prerogative

With trembling unsure hands
I dressed him up in red

He belongs to me, I thought that day
this little soul is solely mine

But no, from that day till now
it was my life that was no more mine

My life could never be the same
it became much better and too fine.

https://alkagirdhar.wordpress.com/2015/01/05/born-again/?preview=true&preview_id=247&preview_nonce=ffbf1555d3

Alka Girdhar
Sydney

About poetreecreations

I am an author writer publisher web administrator I run poetry workshops in the community. My published Manners childrens poetry book can be found at www.waterstones.com

2 responses

  1. Pingback: My poems at Poetree Creations | Magnanimous Word

  2. Beautiful. Touched my heart. ❤

    Like

