RSS Feed

Shall we have a toast? -Promote Yourself


drinkkk

Shall we have a toast?

To the times when we shared smiles

To the motivation that helped us cross miles

Shall we have a toast?

To your gain of better bargain

and the shock of the sad manifestation of our fears

Say cheers to all the tears,

let’s celebrate the reality this truth bears

Shall we have a toast?

To the many times I hurt but did not show

To the many secrets you thought I should not know

To the many nights I cried myself to sleep

and the days I smiled because I was too tired to weep

Shall we have a toast?

To the many mysteries life will each day unfold

To the glories tomorrow may hold

To the repercussions of yesterdays actions today

and the sweet-sour memories locked up for yet another day

Shall we have a toast?

A toast with broken glasses

symbols of our hearts once broken in the past

evidence of unhealed wounds soon to turn scars

Of dreams, plans now covered with dust

Let’s have a toast shall we?

Let’s celebrate the humble fragility

of our egocentric humanity

And ladies, gentlemen, my dears;

Join me take a sip after I have said

By Kuukua Annang

About poetreecreations

I am an author writer publisher web administrator I run poetry workshops in the community. My published Manners childrens poetry book can be found at www.waterstones.com

One response

