RSS Feed

HOW I LONG FOR YESTURDAY – Promote Yourself


way
 
Do you have a faith that can support you on life’s way?
Do you have a prayer you offer up to God each day?
Do you have a vision of how you would like life to be?
If you have, I’d be pleased if you would share it all with me.
 
For each day I’m becoming a little more confused,
The things I ask for in my prayers are continually refused,
I still have a vision of how I would like the world to be,
But what is happening now is of real concern to me.
 
The standards which were once excepted by me and you,
Seem to have evaporated, just like morning dew,
My vision of the world is no longer plain to see,
It has become blurred by the mists of apathy.
 
Why can’t we return to the standards of our youth,
When the virtues were decency, honesty and truth,
When people were made to bear the shame,
If they brought dishonour to the family name.
 
If only we could return to yesterday,
Many concerns I have would quickly fade away,
But it’s doubtful if this will ever be,
And that the world will drown in a sea of immorality.
 
I still hope that one day I will see,
A world which is ruled by truth and honesty,
Where the fruits of the Spirit will abound,
And where peace and tranquillity can be found.
Ron Martin

About poetreecreations

I am an author writer publisher web administrator I run poetry workshops in the community. My published Manners childrens poetry book can be found at www.waterstones.com

One response

  1. Amen.Times are changing. Help us dear God to be the change we seek. In Jesus name. Amen.

    Like

