RSS Feed

FUTURE TREE – Promote Yourself


treexxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Imagine a tree
That grew so high
If you climbed it you’d see
To a place beyond time

You’d see all the futures
The years up ahead
Then climb down with stories
Just filling your head

You’d tell all your friends
who’d laugh and say,
‘See into the future?’
‘You’re kidding!’, ‘No way!’

‘Ok then, I’ll prove it!
Wait here, I’ll be back’
Then off at a run
Down the future tree track.

You’d see even more
And remember it all
Then back on the ground
Feel a hundred feet tall

‘You’ll marry at twenty’
‘You’ll move house next week.’
‘You’ll pass all you math’s tests’
‘You’ll sing in your sleep.’

They’d stare at you, scared now
Believing they’d say,
‘How’d you know so much then?
Please tell us your way.’

‘I just climb this tree.
It’s so high I can see
Right into the future
And all that will be.’

‘Where is it? I’m coming!
No me next! Let me!’
And shaking and scrambling
You all climb the tree.

‘We’re too many. Get down!
You’ll break it! Please stop!’
But nobody’s listening
Their goal is the top.

The tree starts to bend
It creaks and it sways
‘What’s that? Why’s it moving?
Do something!’ They say

You scream and you shout
And hang on for dear life
‘The trees falling down!’
And again, you’re quite right.

It falls in slow motion
A million miles long
On its side it could stretch
From Madrid to Hong Kong

So be warned if you’re climbing
A special tree
Just keep it a secret
Between you and me!

Harula Ladd

About poetreecreations

I am an author writer publisher web administrator I run poetry workshops in the community. My published Manners childrens poetry book can be found at www.waterstones.com

Comments are closed.

