RSS Feed

Colwick Park



Take a walk around Colwick Park

So much to take in, so much to see

A sparkling jewel within Nottinghamshire

It doesn’t cost anything, it’s all-free

 

Round a bouts and swings for the children

Long walks for all to take part

Taking in all of the beautiful scenery

It’s just knowing where to start

 

The lakes in all their splendour

With greenery and all kinds of trees

Wild life swimming across the waters

With dragonflies, butterflies and bees

 

The River Trent runs by the park

Adding beauty as it flows by

Fishermen fishing in the lakes

With ducks, geese and swans flying high

 

 

It’s a place where you can find peace

A place to sit with your memories past

Of relationships to reflect upon

On how long they’d last

 

Colwick Park has many things to give

And you can add to it’s magic too

For a short while lose yourself

In the panoramic scenery you view 

Malcolm G Bradshaw

A Mother’s Loss

I held someone very precious

A miracle that was gentle and mild

The most wonderful gift from God

Was my first-born beautiful child

This child had a heavenly smile

So tiny, so delicate in every way

But alas my dreams were shattered

As my child passed away

I was devastated at my loss

By now my heart was breaking

Everything stopped in my life

Every bone in my body was aching

I blamed myself for the passing

My health reached low ebb

I just could not understand

Why my beautiful child was dead

It was then as I lay sleeping

An angelic angel came to me

Cradled within her arms was my baby

She had brought for me to see

I felt all the grief and pain was lifted

These words to me she said

My child please don’t blame yourself

As your can see your child is alive not dead

Your baby in heaven will be taken care of

And God will ease your pain

Your child will be waiting

To be re-united with you again

  Malcolm G Bradshaw

Poppy And The Snail

Poppy the fairy was flying in the forest

When she came across Simon the snail

He wasn’t looking too good

In fact he was looking quite pale

Whatever is the matter enquired Poppy

I don’t know was Simons reply

I have not been able to slither

For my trail has been to dry

Poppy gently picks him up in her arms

Flew down to the doctor pretty quick

For she was very concerned about Simon

For she knew that Simon was very sick

She took him to see doctor dandelion

 The doctor would know what to do,

He examined poor Simon thoroughly

He diagnosed Simon of having snail flu

The doctor told Poppy to take him home

Put Simon straight into his bed

Make sure he has plenty of fluid

Place a cold compress around his head

Poppy made sure Simon was comfortable

As she tucked Simon into his shell

After a few days of nursing

Simon recovered very healthy and well.

Malcolm Bradshaw

About poetreecreations

I am an author writer publisher web administrator I run poetry workshops in the community. My published Manners childrens poetry book can be found at www.waterstones.com

Comments are closed.

