RSS Feed

A Farewell to Winter – Promote Yourself


easternxxxxxxxxx
Light leaks; layers the early eastern hills
Butter-yellow and fresh-squeezed tangerine.
Breakfast colours. The cold skinny breeze fills
The space between birdsong with wild green
Scents: Fynbos and firs, precocious perfumes
From hedgerows hued in blazing blue and red.
A premature promise of summer blooms
Before the last frost. When frozen and dead
These petals will carpet the trail toward home,
Marking the certain seasonal parade,
A farewell to cold, an end to the poem
That was winter. As dawn’s grey starts to fade
I stop to look back on the path I have trod
And offer myself to my Creator God.

Christopher  Leach

I am a 40-something year old living in the tiny village of Bathurst in the Eastern Cape Province, South Africa. I grow flowers and vegetables and work in a local restaurant on weekends. I have spent most of my adult life travelling; I have an RYA Yachtmaster ticket and a lot of my journeys involved delivering sailing yachts. After a happy seven year relationship with an amazing women, author amongst other skills, who tragically, died in a airline crash in Tripoli in 2010, I decided to move back to the area of my childhood and put down roots. Living close to nature has inspired me to start writing again, hence my use of a WordPress blog to share my writing with others.
Christopher Leach

About poetreecreations

I am an author writer publisher web administrator I run poetry workshops in the community. My published Manners childrens poetry book can be found at www.waterstones.com

Comments are closed.

