RSS Feed

The taxpayer


tax

We all pay council tax

Road tax and VAT

Speeding fines

That affects you and me

We are all subject to parking fines

Speed cameras and CCTV

Road tax and now car parks

That affects you and me

Income tax on pensions

Stamp duty, inheritance to

TV licence and Water rates

Once again affect me and you

Tax on saving in the bank

How do we survive?

Death duty when we die

Tax to the hilt while alive

No wonder the country’s in mess

For we are paying for their mistakes

People who can ill afford it

When will they get their brakes?

I can’t see anything changing

For we don’t have a choice

For decisions are made by other

As taxpayers we have no voice

The attitude of government is simple

We will screw the people to pay

For we can manipulate the people

Lets face it; the taxpayer has no say

Malcolm G Bradshaw

About poetreecreations

I am an author writer publisher web administrator I run poetry workshops in the community. My published Manners childrens poetry book can be found at www.waterstones.com

One response

  1. I liked your diatribe on taxes and couldn’t resist replying in kind:

    I agree that we are taxed too much
    That’s plain for all to see.
    But I don’t pay a TV Licence
    I don’t have a TV.
    I have no fines for speeding
    I do not drive a car
    So I don’t pay parking charges
    However high they are.
    I feel I ought to mention
    “Road Tax” is no more
    We all pay for our highways
    Though we never leave our door!
    The cost of roads and traffic
    Comes from the general purse
    From income tax and council tax
    For better or for worse.
    But I have to pay some taxes
    And like many folk I moan
    That taxes are increasing
    More than I have ever known

    Like

