RSS Feed

Epiphanies (Chris Zithulele Mann) – Yourfavourite poem


 ele

 

 

If suffering, its persistence

is a mystery

then so is joy.

 

Walking at dawn I found its music

drenching me utterly,

 

and couldn’t convey

more than a trace of it,

 

a man with headphones, stepping out a subway

suddenly

leaping with a laugh in the air.

 

2

Whoever grew wise without sorrow?

 

Whoever loved

unless they trusted enough to bleed?

 

And who understood

till they’d shivered in fright at their ignorance?

 

Like dew

smoking off the bumpers of parked cars

 

such epiphanies

from time to momentary time

glisten,

 

then evaporate.

Chris Zithulele Mann

YOUR FAVOURITE POEM

SENT IN BY YOU

WHAT’S YOURS?

About poetreecreations

I am an author writer publisher web administrator I run poetry workshops in the community. My published Manners childrens poetry book can be found at www.waterstones.com

3 responses

  1. That really is a beautiful poem and so many of its lines resonate with me

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reblogged this on Laurel's Reflections and commented:
    Ah, they published the poem I sent through… It’s been one of my favorites since I first read it, nearly two decades ago.

    Like

