RSS Feed

SUNDAY PARK BENCH -Promote Yourself


bench

Alone,

Rumpled newspaper in hand

Sits the old man,

Cold morning air sends a chill

Through a heavy overcoat,

Sunday morning light filtering

Through burnished leaves of autumn

Kindling thoughts of Sundays long gone,

Waking next to his wife,

The sound of children filling the house;

Now children grown – wife gone,

Sunday mornings bring only rumpled papers

On a park bench,

Alone.

Walt Trizna

https://walttriznastories.wordpress.com/

Although I now live in a small town, I have lived in many large cities.  I have witnessed the subject of this poem time and time again.  I’m sure you have too. 

 

This poem was published in Quality American Poetry, 1975-1976, Book III.

The anthology was published by Valley Publications and edited by William Lloyd Griffin.

About poetreecreations

I am an author writer publisher web administrator I run poetry workshops in the community. My published Manners childrens poetry book can be found at www.waterstones.com

Comments are closed.

