RSS Feed

Standing Room Only


american

A Saturday morning,

an American coffee shop,

a normal milling of the usual,

latte, specialty drinks, fritters,

my black coffee,

and people scattered throughout the room

wearing their apple watches, laptops, fit-bits,

along with the regular crowd …

~

An iconic assortment defines who we are

as a society living within each other’s reach,

eye contact, thoughts, ability to dialogue,

all of our bodies sharing an energy far beyond our comprehension.

~

These are the moments when I wish I could

speak directly to the minds of everyone around me

without interrupting, without invading, without discouraging,

a happiness, a need to concentrate, a desire to have fantasy

take them away if just for the sip of their coffee drink,

away from the pain and suffering and confusion that does truly

intrude upon their daily lives.

~

I suppose most of the time when we think of others

we are certainly measuring our own,

so now is when I could acknowledge those fears

to be inside me,

that inner demon that allows me only certain moments

of quiet solace in the crowd.

I end up thinking though that if I am one,

suffice there are probably many.

where I stand to reflect upon my day,

another might bury themselves in their

quest to figure out why they are so consumed.

~

We all stand together separate, engaged, disjointed,

We all prefer standing room only to human interaction.

~

*photo found on rulesforhumans.wordpress.com

© Thom Amundsen 2015

http://thinkingoutloudagain.com

 

About poetreecreations

I am an author writer publisher web administrator I run poetry workshops in the community. My published Manners childrens poetry book can be found at www.waterstones.com

One response

  1. Reblogged this on William Chasterson and commented:
    I’m in central Africa where the internet is very bad when it runs at all. If it seems like I’m posting a lot at once it’s because I’m at a cyber cafe, don’t have much money and I’m trying to stretch my wings before my time runs out. http://smashwords.com/books/view/540303

    Like

