RSS Feed

Modern Mania


commicatios

~

We are in a free state

our words are rampant,

abundant, thrown with fury

as our fingertips express

what our eyes might easily hide.

~

We have liberties

our lives are fluid,

we stroll by one another

on city streets, in corridors,

alone upon intersections

without connection,

islands traveling in unison.

~

We are a smart folk

adapting to the machine-

mania of new-world communication;

texting our ideals,

snap chatting our privacy

allowing our massive peer group

to react accordingly hiding the visual.

~

We are alone now

gleaning our devices,

a blue-tooth discovery

working its blatant magic

in separation, in desperation,

a distant eye on body language

cannot suffice the human condition.

~

We need to breathe with eyes in elegance,

share the touch, share the beauty, share the love.

~

© Thom Amundsen 2014

http://thinkingoutloudagain.com

 

About poetreecreations

I am an author writer publisher web administrator I run poetry workshops in the community. My published Manners childrens poetry book can be found at www.waterstones.com

One response

  1. thank you, I’m glad I found this, thought provoking. On holiday I deliberately didn’t take my phone on the first day…it is so hard not to these days, perhaps we ought to think back to Wordsworth.

    Like

