RSS Feed

Let go and Let God – My Favourite Poem – by Lauretta P Burns


roach59
studiotj.wordpress.comx
tjroach410@yahoo.com
24.197.163.241
 

I am a poet and I love poetry. My favorite poem that I did not write is:

Let Go & Let God
By: Lauretta P. Burns

As children bring their broken toys with tears for us to mend,
I bought my broken dreams to God,
because He was my friend.
But then, instead of leaving Him at peace to work alone,
I hung around, and tried to help
with ways that were my own.
At last I snatched them back and cried,
“How can you be so slow?”
“My child, “He said, ” what could I do? You never did let go.”

About poetreecreations

I am an author writer publisher web administrator I run poetry workshops in the community. My published Manners childrens poetry book can be found at www.waterstones.com

3 responses

  1. I understand what this poem is saying so eloquently, to trust that God is looking out for us. But, it is a tough call that, when trying to achieve the goals that seem to be planted in our souls, it is difficult to distinguish between us letting go to let God direct us and where the reality simply is, we have to put in the effort. It is hard to distinguish between a complete trust in God that can be like burying our talents in the ground and using those talents to be prosperous; the first directive of God.

    Like

  2. Oh..I do love this verse of you..a message so sweetly said.

    Like

