RSS Feed

No More Friendly Skies – Promote Yourself


imageLosing ground
 
Rapidly rushing by
 
Wings contoured for lift
 
An attitude for altitude
 
Running out of runway
 
Nose to the sky
 
Somehow in the following of lines
 
The dynamics have changed
 
Air rushes across wings
 
And where lift once would occur
 
Drag and a lessened range
 
Before breaking free
 
The grip of gravity
 
Soaring uneasily
 
Rumble of engines deafening
 
Climbing…
 
Achieving…
 
Gaining…
 
Level off at cruising speed
 
Whistling whine of turbines, commanding, assuring
 
Something nags
 
Something pulls
 
Something in the pit of a stomach
 
Some kind of premonition
 
Something felt before
 
But had to power through the intuitive
 
Had to believe
 
Place faith,
in the unseen
Rising…
 
Above and Beyond…
 
The unconscionable!
Anthony Gomez

About poetreecreations

I am an author writer publisher web administrator I run poetry workshops in the community. My published Manners childrens poetry book can be found at www.waterstones.com

6 responses

  1. What I actually find amazing is that I have been contemplating the principles of flight and found that truth is when a metaphysical idea is applicable to the physical principles demonstrated in nature. That if we wish to understand flight we must consult those creatures given the natural ability. Like you have so eloquently described in this piece, the physical aerodynamics of birds is applicable to the unseen world of flight. Our souls must pitch into the wind [spirit] to be uplifted and learn the signs of strange unseen currents and find that balance that opposes invisible gravitational forces threatening to pull us down. And just as difficult a task it is to exercise our ability of flight, it is just as important to practice a soft landing with arms [wings] open to embrace the spirit so that our feet can firmly touch ground. More than read this piece, I believe I experienced it.

    Like

    • The “eloquence” was not intentional. Just write what I feel as it comes and never “try” just “do” force it, if I could stop I probably would.. What I actually find “amazing” is the gifted lens/”vision” with which you see, we have has this conversation before haven’t we…(doesn’t get old though:) I unfortunately am not so deep I must confess…at least not consciously…in fact I’m a bit of an ass, crude and unrefined at times more often than not I am loathe to admit:)
      a.g.

      Like

  2. Beautiful!

    Like

  3. I love this poem. Thank you so much for writing this and sharing it.

    Like

