RSS Feed

hello Pants” – Promote Yourself


pants

From baby to toddler in the blink of an eye,

The last stage is hard I’m not gonna lie

The nappies need to go, say “hello pants”

Might be too soon but I’ll take the chance.

 A short time naked whilst watching cartoons,

I’ve shown you the potty at the side of the room

I keep on asking “do you need a wee?”

A minute later the floor’s covered in pee.

We try again every day,

But all you want to do is play

I encourage you as much as I can,

Pants with cars, and praise, “come on lil man”.

 So much pride I felt the first time I saw

You did a wee but this time not on the floor,

Such a big boy doing more and more

It won’t be long now, of that I’m sure.

 Months later you want the toilet instead

Still a few accidents as I’d expect,

But then comes the day you manage to stay dry

Even on a trip out with distractions close by.

The best day so far, I pray for many more

Days with no nappies and no wee on the floor,

Now you’re a big boy, my baby has gone

I couldn’t be more proud of how well you have done

Abbe Cutforth

About poetreecreations

I am an author writer publisher web administrator I run poetry workshops in the community. My published Manners childrens poetry book can be found at www.waterstones.com

One response

  1. Lovely poem that shows how rewarding little triumphs can be.

    Like

