RSS Feed

WHAT DO OTHERS SEE ?


man on bed
 
I lay upon my bed, my mind was full of doubt,
I tried to understand what life is all about,
I hoped that in some way the answer would become clear,
And when I understood, this would rid me of my fear.
 
I’d taken a close look at life, and disliked what I saw,
People who had plenty, demanding even more,
There did not seem a way to satisfy their greed,
For while other people struggle, they have far more than they need.
And then I looked at myself and came to realise,
That I could look the same through other people’s eyes,
My attitude might lead others to think I do not really care,
Since of life’s treasures I too am seeking a bigger share.
 
Can this be wrong? I had to ask myself.
Is it really wrong to seek to get more wealth?
By wanting a bigger share of life’s treasure store,
Could it be that I am making other people poor?
The thought that this could be filled me with remorse,
It made me realise that my life should take a different course,
From now on I realised that I should try to be,
Someone who was concerned for the whole of society.
When this realisation came into my mind,
I knew that I must try it, hoping that I would find
Contentment in my soul, the answer was very clear,
People would take a look at me and know I really care.
 
Of other people’s problems I really am aware,
And in many ways I have tried to show I care,
When other people take a close look at me,
That is the image I hope that they will see.
Ron Martin

About poetreecreations

I am an author writer publisher web administrator I run poetry workshops in the community. My published Manners childrens poetry book can be found at www.waterstones.com

Comments are closed.

