RSS Feed

“I Read A Poem Today” – Promote Yourself


read

I read a poem today

Not cause I thought about u today
Or missed u today
But because I was curious about

what you had to say

In essence, you say

my absence affects you

A statement your actions

deem prophetically untrue

Understand that my demeanor is not of my choosing  
Cause our memories…

my mind ..it hinders

as thoughts linger
of what yesterday..with u..once brought

I read a poem today

It was called “You”
I read and reread each line
to ensure comprehension

A Line by Line explanation

capturing my attention…

dictating how you think you’re starting to feel for me
I wonder if its real..

but still

your memory

provokes chills

 

You compare our narrative

to that of the gods

Celestial

Ethereal

Inexplicable

And though my smile

is a godly power only you convey

Your stained papyrus

I’m tempted to fray

Because

I

question

if

YOU

have any inkling how to

Treat a goddess

So Timeless..

I read a poem today

 

“I L-l-like you..” it read

I wasn’t impressed

Cause you

Camouflage your

Executions of tomfoolery

So eloquently…

Lying lips licked love so lightly and

Made loyalty look so likely..

Put simply…

You’re no stranger

to the danger

that comes with…breaking hearts.

But

Yet

And

Still

I pray to the gods

that your words ARE real;

I pray for

Vulnerability

Fragility

and Emotional Accessibility

So that your words

may reach ME

and not ….my ego

So here I go…

 

Dear God,

 

Can you hear me?

Its me, Jay.

 

He says he’s ready to keep writing

until

the day his writing will reach me..

 

So I sit here ready to keep reading

In hopes that one day his words

Will reach their home

In me.

 

I read a poem today.

Jay

About poetreecreations

I am an author writer publisher web administrator I run poetry workshops in the community. My published Manners childrens poetry book can be found at www.waterstones.com

4 responses

  1. John Snowdon

    “Lying lips licked love so lightly and

    Made loyalty look so likely..”

    Great lines

    Like

  2. Thank you guys for featuring my poem 🙂

    http://www.jaysoawesome.wordpress.com

    Like

  3. Gorgeous and hard-hitting. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

