RSS Feed

COASTWISE BARGES- YOUR FAVOURITE POEM


Barge logo

 

Poem, origin unknown, found in handwritten notes of the late Frank Willmott.Buxom barges drifting,
Outward with the tide,
Outward, onwards, seawrad,
Where buoys and beacons guide.
Bound with Grain for Yarmouth,

Ghistong down the Swin,
Hasting, winding, storming,
From Lowerstoft to Kings Lynn.Every port and haven
From Tyne to Cawsand Bay,
Still sees the barges trading
With fresh cargoes every day.Laden deep with sugar,
with barley, sand or coke,
Spritties keep on sailin,
They were built of English oak.But their day is passing,
Fewer with each tide,
Grace old London’s river,
Long may their rare charm abide

YOUR FAVOURITE POEM 

SENT IN BY YOU

WHAT’S YOUR’S

About poetreecreations

I am an author writer publisher web administrator I run poetry workshops in the community. My published Manners childrens poetry book can be found at www.waterstones.com

One response

  1. Lovely imagery! As for me, I love Cavafy’s ‘Horses of Achilles’, Emily Bronte’s ‘Spellbound’ and Tennyson’s ‘Ulysses’, but my favourite poem of all time will always be ‘Ariel’ by Sylvia Plath, a wild horse ride that ascends into something so much more than that, I read it to feel freedom: http://www.poetryfoundation.org/poem/178962

    Like

