THE OLD FARMERS PRAYER​


FARMER
Time just keeps moving on ​
Many years have come and gone ​
But I grow older without regret ​
My hopes are in what may come yet.​
On the farm I work each day ​
This is where I wish to stay ​
I watch the seeds each season sprout ​
From the soil as the plants rise out.​
I study Nature and I learn ​
To know the earth and feel her turn ​
I love her dearly and all the seasons ​
For I have learned her secret reasons. ​
All that will live is in the bosom of Earth ​
She is the loving mother of all birth ​
But all that lives must pass away ​
And go back again to her someday. ​
My life too will pass from Earth ​
But do not grieve, I say, there will be other birth ​
When my body is old and all spent ​
And my soul to Heaven has went. ​
Please compost and spread me on this plain ​
So my body Mother Earth can claim ​
That is where I wish to be ​
Then Nature can nourish new life with me. ​
So do not for me grieve and weep ​
I did not leave, I only sleep ​
I am with the soil here below ​
Where I can nourish life of beauty and glow. ​
Here I can help the falling rain ​
Grow golden fields of ripening grain ​
From here I can join the winds that blow ​
And meet the softly falling snow. ​
Here I can help the sun’s warming light ​
Grow food for birds of gliding flight ​
I can be in the beautiful flowers of spring ​
And in every other lovely thing. ​
So do not for me weep and cry ​
I am here, I do not die. ​
AUTHOR UNKNOWN

About poetreecreations

I am an author writer publisher web administrator I run poetry workshops in the community. My published Manners childrens poetry book can be found at www.waterstones.com

One response

  1. I love it its so real well done 😊

    Like