Daily Archives: January 2, 2015

The Upcoming New Year

jan

One year has already gone

Either you were in low or high cotton

Pause for a while before having fun

Ruminate on what you have done

 

Think of adversities or any abortion

Check the reasons behind misfortune

Learn from any defective action

And be aspirant and hopefully carry on

 

Think of success and attainment

Be grateful and never flamboyant

Look forward to a new achievement

To thrive and flourish again and again

 

Say: farewell bygone year

Hail the ascentsof a new year

Wish you all the best my dear

Much joy and happy New Year

 

© Chaouki M’kaddem

December 26th, 2012

New Year Wish

2015

This new year I will not be wishing for stardom, I do not even want fortune and fame;
In fact I do not want anything to change, I want my life to stay to same 
..
Instead you can give my New Years wish to somebody who is feeling low;
Give it to the homeless man who has no place to go 
..
Grant the wishes of the dying children in Africa, so maybe they can get to drink clean water;
You can Give my wish to their parents, so maybe this year they will not have to say goodbye to their son or daughter 
..
You can take my New Years wish and give it to a child who’s daddy will never come home;
He may have died fighting for his country but he has left his baby all alone 
..
Please give my wish to the person who cannot smile, sadness is now their only expression;
Please give my New Years wish to the war widow before she sinks deeper into depression 
..
So please do not waste a wish on me when there are still children crying their hunger pain;
There is nothing In my life I need to change, I just want everything to stay the same 
..

BARRY MOWLES ©2013

The passing of the year

claesz-25

My glass is filled, my pipe is lit,
     My den is all a cosy glow;
And snug before the fire I sit,
     And wait to feel the old year go.
I dedicate to solemn thought
     Amid my too-unthinking days,
This sober moment, sadly fraught
     With much of blame, with little praise.

Old Year! upon the Stage of Time
     You stand to bow your last adieu;
A moment, and the prompter’s chime
     Will ring the curtain down on you.
Your mien is sad, your step is slow;
     You falter as a Sage in pain;
Yet turn, Old Year, before you go,
     And face your audience again.

That sphinx-like face, remote, austere,
     Let us all read, whate’er the cost:
O Maiden! why that bitter tear?
     Is it for dear one you have lost?
Is it for fond illusion gone?
     For trusted lover proved untrue?
O sweet girl-face, so sad, so wan
     What hath the Old Year meant to you?

And you, O neighbour on my right
     So sleek, so prosperously clad!
What see you in that aged wight
     That makes your smile so gay and glad?
What opportunity unmissed?
     What golden gain, what pride of place?
What splendid hope? O Optimist!
     What read you in that withered face?

And You, deep shrinking in the gloom,
     What find you in that filmy gaze?
What menace of a tragic doom?
     What dark, condemning yesterdays?
What urge to crime, what evil done?
     What cold, confronting shape of fear?
O haggard, haunted, hidden One
     What see you in the dying year?

And so from face to face I flit,
     The countless eyes that stare and stare;
Some are with approbation lit,
     And some are shadowed with despair.
Some show a smile and some a frown;
     Some joy and hope, some pain and woe:
Enough! Oh, ring the curtain down!
     Old weary year! it’s time to go.

My pipe is out, my glass is dry;
     My fire is almost ashes too;
But once again, before you go,
     And I prepare to meet the New:
Old Year! a parting word that’s true,
     For we’ve been comrades, you and I —
I thank God for each day of you;
     There! bless you now! Old Year, good-bye!

By Robert w Service